Thread: Question for english riders :)

Question for english riders :)

As many of you know, I started riding english a couple months ago, and am progressing steadily! (sorry for no pics...my mom doesn't usually stay out to watch) I just had a random question...going from western to english, one of the only problems I've had is that my legs seem to swing when I canter and trot. Any tips from you experienced riders on how to keep them still?? lol It's always harder since I'm pretty tall, and keeping my knees bent as well is a little problem. Any answers will be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks Kay!!

~It's not who you are underneath, but what you do that defines you~ -Batman Begins

2. Katie,

The only thing I think of at the moment is to try and keep your heels down, which should reduce the amount of swinging that your legs create, I know its a hard switch, I did it too, I eventually got used to it!

Good luck!

BTW, did you ask your instructer about it, or maybe somebody else who works at the barn?

-Paula

Oh yup, I definitely keep my heals down...but maybe I'm not putting enough weight in the stirrups or something. I've asked my instructor about how to keep my legs still, and one thing she did say, is that it takes practice and strengthening in your legs. But other than that, she wants me to figure it out. Thanks for the tips though Paula!

Thanks Kay!!

~It's not who you are underneath, but what you do that defines you~ -Batman Begins