Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which pet hair vacuum do you use?

Which pet hair vacuum do you use?

I've been using the same Oreck vacuum for the past 15+ years. My Mom wants to get us a new one. Any recommendations? I've heard the Dyson Animal is really effective at getting pet hair, but we probably can't afford that. I see those Bissell Pet Hair Eraser commercials all the time and that one is under $200, I think, so that might be an option. I wanted to hear from all you gurus though before I go out and spend any money though.

We have a Kenmore Progressive (Bagless) and I love love love it. I really wouldn't recommend any Bissell vacuum, especially when dealing with pet hair. We had Bissells when I was at college, in the dorms, and they were junk. Even when they'd get a brand new one it, it'd hardly pick anything up. J's mom bought a Bissell a year or so ago and has since had to replace it. She bought it brand new and it just couldn't handle the cat hair i guess and burnt out. The people I used to clean house for had a Bissell as well and I just hated trying to use it with their two cats' hair... They don't see to last very long either. We've had our Kenmore for 3 or so years now and it still runs great! We have to replace the filters (2) once a year or so, with 3 dogs. Other than that... there's no extra cost to it. And J found it refurbished on eBay.. Her mom just replaced her Bissell with a Kenmore too... Bought a floor model and got a good discount.

I'd like to try a Dyson, but I'd never be willing to pay so much for one.. That's just silly.

Bunny: BoxerxSheppard mix, Eli: Boxer, Treo: Boxer
    Zeke [RB]: RottweilerxAustrailian Cattle Dog mix

Oscar & Chloe: White's Tree Frogs, Kiwi & Wasabi: Green Tree Frogs
    I sell DVDs and other miscellaneous stuff on eBay!