Thread: Raising Kittens!

Raising Kittens!

Hi, new here on the forum! I'm the (sort of) new owner of two wonderful little orange boy kittens. To make a long story short, we rescued the mother cat (already very pregnant), she had her babies a few days later (3, one stillborn), and my dad is letting me keep the babies (and the mom). The kittens are already about 8-9 weeks (getting that oh-so-important surgery tomorrow with the mom so we don't end up with more cats, goodness knows there's already enough out there).

This is my first time in many years raising a kitten (and the last time I was much younger, so I wouldn't say I did much. I'm 17 now). I have bottle-fed one, but unfortunately he died at about 3 months of a heart murmur (stage 3-4).

My sister has successfully rescued and bottle fed two others, but she raises cats differently than I do, and I prefer my cats to be a little less into roughhousing. I know they're still babies with lots of energy, so it has to be directed someplace, I just rather it not be my hand or sofa. Yes, we have many cat trees and toys for them to play with, so there's really no reason for them to attack (and they don't). My dad doesn't really like cats, so I'd like these two to grow up to be as well mannered as possible. Any tips for raising the little vermin would be greatly appreciated!
    (for anyone concerned with the fate of my cats when I go off to college, they will come with me if they can, but if they cannot my parents (mom, actually) will gladly take care of them, so I’m not worried about that)

Here's some pictures of my two (and their mom):

Mother cat, Bon-bon. I cannot remember what her coloring is called, but she's beautiful! She's a young mother also, this was her first (and last!) litter.

Pippin, Or Pip for short.

Merry.

Pippin again.

Merry sleeping on a cat tree with toys.