Thread: Cat Grass??

Cat Grass??

When My mom found out about the new addition she sent a "welcome package" with toys, collars, cat beds, blankets and this "grow you own" cat grass kit. I havent tried this before and was just wondering if its okay for them, Necessary, or just a treat. I have a 4 1/2 month old little one So I didnt know if this was something okay to give her.

There wasnt much info on the package about it so I was sure some of you would know!!

I am not an expert on this, but I believe the grass is good for the kitties. Please someone correct me if I'm wrong. However, I am not sure if the kitten should be a certain age first or if that matters.
    I am sure some more knowledgeable PTers will help you out with this.
    I got some seeds to grow and have been lazy and not planted them. I have just been getting wheat grass at the grocery store.
    Our goal in life should be - to be as good a person as our dog thinks we are.

Thank you for the siggy, Michelle!

Cindy (Human) - Taz (RB Tabby) - Zoee (RB Australian Shepherd) - Paizly (Dilute Tortie) - Taggart (Aussie Mix) - Jax (Brown & White Tabby), - Zeplyn (Cattle Dog Mix)

I've been using 'cat grass' for years. The one I use is made by a company called Cosmic and I think they call it 'kitty herbs' or something like that. It has Oat, Barley and Wheat seeds in it. I can get it at most pet stores. It's safe, and the only problems I've ever noticed is if a cat eats too much of it they might vomit occassionally.

It does help them to pass hairballs too because it's fiber for them. It helps satisfy their urge to chew on plants, and most of them like it. I even gave it to the kittens when they were only 3 1/2 months old, but their little kitten teeth have a more difficult time chewing a blade off than older kittens do.

RIP Dusty July 2 2007 RIP Sabrina June 16 2011 RIP Jack July 2 2013 RIP Bear July 5 2016 RIP Pooky June 23 2018. RIP Josh July 6 2019 RIP Cami January 6 2022

Sound good!