Thread: Found a chocolate Lab pup :)

Found a chocolate Lab pup :)

After 2 weeks of non-commital discussions with the breeder, (who hadn't decided whether he was breeding his Chocolate female or not), I changed my mind and found another breeder who had 6 week old pups he was reserving for people. I went to see them yesterday and decided on this little female:

Her name is Ruby, and we will be picking her up on Valentine's Day. I am so excited!!

Can I ask a quick question? Is there any way to make her transition to our home in the first few nights easier? I know she will cry, but am I supposed to respond by coming to comfort her, or am I supposed to let her cry a little? I will be taking her outside to potty every 2 hours through the night, but am I supposed to put her right back in her crate afterwards with no extra attention? I am new to crate training Thanks!!
    Saving just one pet won't change the world...but, surely, the world will change for that one pet

Awwwe, she is adorable!! Can't wait to see more picture of her when you get her home.
    As for the questions on crate training and such...I'll leave that to people with more experience.
    Enjoy your little bundle of cuteness there!!
    Our goal in life should be - to be as good a person as our dog thinks we are.

Thank you for the siggy, Michelle!

Cindy (Human) - Taz (RB Tabby) - Zoee (RB Australian Shepherd) - Paizly (Dilute Tortie) - Taggart (Aussie Mix) - Jax (Brown & White Tabby), - Zeplyn (Cattle Dog Mix)

Congrats! She is adorable! I love chocolate puppys. When Layla was a little one, she is seven months now, I would give her a little attention before I put her back in the crate. Just like five minutes of loving or playing with a toy. Also, my puppys never cried much. I had their crate right beside my bed and gave them a stuffed animal to cuddle up to.
    http://petoftheday.com/talk/signaturepics/sigpic9646_1.gif
    Forever in my heart...
    Casey.Ginger.Corey.Mandy.Sassy