Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lets talk turkey!

Lets talk turkey!

Actually lets talk recipes. I have been cooking the Thanksgiving dinner for 20 years now. I need some fresh ideas! I don't really want to go to the dreaded grocery store anymore but maybe some fresh ideas.

I need some ideas on the yams, I usually bake them like a regular potatoe, then peel them and mix them with butter and brown sugar and put the marshmellows on top and brown them.

I was thinking this year of using condensed milk in the regular mashed pototoes and the yams...does anyone else do this?

I always put the turkey in one of those plastic cooking bags...don't have to baste it and it always comes out pretty moist.
    don't breed or buy while shelter dogs die....

I have been frosted!

Thanks Kfamr for the signature!

May not be practical at the moment as they can get a bit expensive, but something to think about in the future... a turkey fryer!

We fry our turkey every year and it is absolutely scrumptious! So moist and flavourful.

~Kay, Athena, Ace, Kiara, Mufasa, & Alice!
    "So baby take a axe to your makeup kit
    Set ablaze the billboards and their advertisements
    Love with all your hearts and never forget
    How good it feels to be alive
    And strive for your desire"

-rx bandits

This will be my first year cooking Thanksgiving dinner alone, and I'm afraid that it's going to be a flop! Is cooking a turkey hard? I always thought it seemed so since my mom was in the kitchen all day long!
    Any ideas for an easy turkey would be most appreciated!

For regular mashed potatoes, I haven't used condensed milk, but I have used 1.5 cups buttermilk, half stick of butter, and a cup of parmesean cheese for yummy cheesy buttermilk potatoes!

**hugs**