PDA

View Full Version : Please make me feel better...

NoahsMommy
01-25-2004, 09:36 PM
I don't even know why I'm sharing this here, so forgive me in advance.

As a few of you know, I have crohn's disease. If I get stressed out, I get a flare up and have to take vicodin until I feel better.

I'm also a student, striving to earn a PhD in Clinical Pyschology. I'm still in a junior college, as I've been so sick since high school, that its taken quite a while to even get here.

I constantly beat myself up for being so far behind when I know my true potential. I know it isn't my fault I'm sick, but it really, really bothers me that I can't be where I want to be.

I've been feeling better and decided to take 8 units this semester while working about 36 hours a week. My classes are in the morning (hardest part of the day for me) so that I can work and go to school.

Last week was my second week and I'm realizing that I've taken on too much. I formulated a plan this weekend to get ready for next week so I can use my time wisely and keep myself healthy and on the right track for school and work.

I missed class on Thursday (I go M-Th) because I was sick. I had to miss last Wednesday and Thursday because I had a cold. So...in 7 days of classes, I've missed 3 already. :(

I found myself in pain this afternoon and after 2 325mg Vicodin, I'm still in pain. :(

Usually, my mom seems to know what to say to make things better, so while David rubbbed my feet, I called her.

HUGE mistake. My mom basically told me to consider another career. That she doesn't think I can handle being a Psychologist and that I can't handle basically anything. I normally would have taken that attitude and used it to give me a stronger drive to not only earn my PhD, but to prove her wrong.