PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated

Tonya
09-18-2003, 07:15 PM
We technically have Teddy potty trained now. He is 10 months old. But he still marks territory. :mad: For instance, he'll go into the big dogs crates and dribble in there, or if the cat is lying on the couch, he'll lift his leg on the couch. I don't want to leave him contained the rest of his life, but this is so frustrating! What do I do!?

jenluckenbach
09-18-2003, 07:38 PM
Is he neutered???

Tonya
09-18-2003, 08:57 PM
No, he isn't. We have had rescue dogs all of our lives. There has been so many dogs in my lifetime that were so awesome I wanted to clone them. I decided that for once, I would get a dog from a breeder and breed him one time. I am not experienced, but my dog trainer has Teddy's intended wife. She knows what she is doing. I'm already SO tempted to just scratch the idea and neuter him, but my husband doesn't want to. He says it defeats the whole purpose of us not rescuing, and we should be patient.

tikeyas_mom
09-18-2003, 10:05 PM
well thats why is is marking his territory, he will do it intull he is neutered.

Twisterdog
09-18-2003, 11:00 PM
well thats why is is marking his territory, he will do it intull he is neutered

That's correct. Marking is a basic instinct/learned behavior combo for all male dogs .... and many females. Removal of the sex hormones, via neutering or spaying, will remove the sexual/hormonal reasons for marking.

However ... be forewarned! ... the longer you wait to neuter your dog, the far greater the chance that he will continue to mark for the rest of his life, even after he is neutered. That is because, even though the hormones are gone, the HABIT if formed. He has been lifting his leg and marking for years, so he continues to do so forever.

I have five male dogs, all of them neutered. The ones that were neutered at 2 to 4 years old (all were rescues) mark everywhere. They truly disgust and infuriate me at times.

binka_nugget
09-18-2003, 11:17 PM