PDA

View Full Version : Which pet hair vacuum do you use?

dreamparkingspace
04-29-2009, 01:04 PM
I've been using the same Oreck vacuum for the past 15+ years. My Mom wants to get us a new one. Any recommendations? I've heard the Dyson Animal is really effective at getting pet hair, but we probably can't afford that. I see those Bissell Pet Hair Eraser commercials all the time and that one is under $200, I think, so that might be an option. I wanted to hear from all you gurus though before I go out and spend any money though. :D

Seravieve
04-29-2009, 01:57 PM
We have a Kenmore Progressive (Bagless) and I love love love it. I really wouldn't recommend any Bissell vacuum, especially when dealing with pet hair. We had Bissells when I was at college, in the dorms, and they were junk. Even when they'd get a brand new one it, it'd hardly pick anything up. J's mom bought a Bissell a year or so ago and has since had to replace it. She bought it brand new and it just couldn't handle the cat hair i guess and burnt out. The people I used to clean house for had a Bissell as well and I just hated trying to use it with their two cats' hair... They don't see to last very long either. We've had our Kenmore for 3 or so years now and it still runs great! We have to replace the filters (2) once a year or so, with 3 dogs. Other than that... there's no extra cost to it. And J found it refurbished on eBay.. Her mom just replaced her Bissell with a Kenmore too... Bought a floor model and got a good discount.

I'd like to try a Dyson, but I'd never be willing to pay so much for one.. That's just silly.

Prairie Purrs
04-29-2009, 02:10 PM
I got a Dyson Animal as a Christmas present a couple years ago, and I do love it! I've got a chair and a footstool with white cushions, and the upholstery tool picks up every bit of black and brown fur. And even when my (light beige) carpet looks pretty clean to the naked eye, the vacuum still picks up a ton of fur.