PDA

View Full Version : Question. Please read. (update: Doesn't seem good...)

slleipnir
11-07-2006, 05:04 PM
I was cleaning out the litter box tonight, and right after I was done, Butter came along to do his business. I figured I'd wait, and clean it up too. I bet he sat there for over 5 minutes. I was thinking wow, he must have really had to go! Then after he got up, I went to clean it but nothing was there.

Earlier he was sitting oddly on the kitchen floor, which his tail up like he was going to pee. I found a drop on the floor. Then after I saw him in the box, I found him in the dogs toy box. I found a few drops there too.

What's going on? Every now and then one of the cats pee on my clothes or bed...could it have to do with what Butter is doing now? Should I wait and see if he keeps doing it before taking him to the vet? I really can't have him dripping pee everywhere...

(update at the bottom of the page 4)

caseysmom
11-07-2006, 05:06 PM
I have no experience with this but from what I have read on here it sounds like it could be a urinary tract infection.

Freedom
11-07-2006, 05:15 PM
Does sound like URI. Call your vet, explain to the vet tech and see what s/he says. Don't be surprised if they some in; straining is not fun!

Crazy-Cat-Lover
11-07-2006, 05:23 PM
My oldest cat, Augustus, is prone to crystals and he has done the same thing a couple of times. He will leave little droplets of urine on the floor and strain in the litterbox for quite a while. He also walks around and squats like he is going to urinate - but only a drop comes out. It could be a blockage from crystals, I would take him to the vet ASAP. I adopted Auggy from a local vet - he was surrendered because of his crystals. He was almost dead when he came in because his previous owners ingnored the fact that he had been sleeping in his litterbox for a few days. He had a blockage and luckily the vet saved his life.

Cinder & Smoke
11-07-2006, 05:31 PM
:eek: