Sara Tucholsky got a lift from Central Washington's Liz Wallace, left, and Mallory Holtman
From ESPN.com
-------
Rule clarification
As one of the umpires involved in the game between Central Washington and Western Oregon confirmed in an e-mail to ESPN.com, the rule in question was misinterpreted on the field after Tucholsky's injury and later clarified by the NCAA.
According to page 105, rule 8.5.3.2 of the NCAA softball rule book, "If an injury to a batter-runner or runner prevents her from proceeding to an awarded base, the ball is dead and the substitution can be made. The substitute must legally touch all awarded or missed bases not previously touched."
-----
She could have had a pinch runner finish the homerun 'trot' for her, but it was a super gesture for the other team to help her out!
Bookmarks