Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: How do I upload a new picture attachment now?? - SUCCESS! see #17

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,983

    How do I upload a new picture attachment now?? -more questions

    I tried to upload a new picture with a new thread I started, but I can't get it to work.

    First I tried the "Upload Manager," and told it to add a new file and gave it the location on the "Browse" button. It toook MUCH longer to do whatever it was doing, but when it finally stopped, I hit "done" and it just told me to drag an existing file or else hite "Add Files" AGAIN. But when I looked at the actual page again, the file hadn't been uploaded.

    Then I went to "edit page" and tried the "Insert Image" From Computer, gave it the path and then it didn't insert it..

    And then Firefox crashed.
    Last edited by phesina; 08-10-2012 at 07:26 AM.
    I meant," said Ipslore bitterly, "what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?"
    Death thought about it.
    "Cats," he said eventually. "Cats are nice."

    -- Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    36,106
    I was going to start a thread just for this, so thanks for the question!

    When you want to post a picture now, you hit the little "picture" icon as before ...

    That brings up two options - From Computer and From URL - which means from somewhere else on the Internet.

    When you select From Computer it says "Add an Image from your computer
    Allowed Filetypes: jpg, jpeg, png, gif" and gives you a button to choose a file. Once you have chosen the file, see the line of text below the "Choose File" button that says "Upload file" and click that, and you're done.

    When you select From URL - it says "Add an Image from Url
    Allowed Filetypes: jpg, jpeg, png, gif" and gives you a box in which to type (or paste) the address for the picture you want to use, and below that is automatically checked "Retrieve remote file and reference locally" and then hit "okay" and you are done!

    Now, it's not gonna look like it used to with [IM G] tags - instead it will look like [ATTACH = CONFIG ]52439[/ ATTA CH] - without the spaces of course, but it will post the image right there in the post.

    Does that help?
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    I've Been Frosted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark - GMT+1
    Posts
    14,766
    I can see why I couldn't upload a picture the other day - it was a .pdf. I think this will work.

    Last edited by Randi; 01-31-2012 at 01:58 PM.
    Randi



    "I don't know which weapons will be used in the third World war, but in the fourth, it will be sticks and stones" --- Albert Einstein.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    36,106
    Yes, that worked fine! Hi, handsome boy!
    I've Been Frosted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Downeast (almost)
    Posts
    147
    I tried putting a picture into my text in the thread, but it was way huge - how do you control for the size if you want it to look like the examples above? I ended up with thumbnails that people can then enlarge. But I would like to be able to use the pictures as part of the story I'm trying to tell.

    Thanks. B&L's Mom2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    36,106
    I usually resize them in Photoshop, but any image editing program will do, whatever your computer has! If you keep them to 600 wide, they will fit in the threads nicely.
    I've Been Frosted

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Downeast (almost)
    Posts
    147
    Thanks, Karen. Nancy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Karen View Post
    >
    >
    When you want to post a picture now, you hit the little "picture" icon as before ...

    That brings up two options - From Computer and From URL - which means from somewhere else on the Internet.

    When you select From Computer it says "Add an Image from your computer
    Allowed Filetypes: jpg, jpeg, png, gif" and gives you a button to choose a file. Once you have chosen the file, see the line of text below the "Choose File" button that says "Upload file" and click that, and you're done.

    When you select From URL - it says "Add an Image from Url
    Allowed Filetypes: jpg, jpeg, png, gif" and gives you a box in which to type (or paste) the address for the picture you want to use, and below that is automatically checked "Retrieve remote file and reference locally" and then hit "okay" and you are done!

    >
    >
    Does that help?
    Karen, that is exactly what I did before and I just tried again now. It still doesn't retrieve the picture.

    This is the message (thread starter) in which I was trying to insert a cute picture of lovely little kitten Sheila: http://petoftheday.com/talk/showthre...27#post2404627

    Thanks for your help.

    Pat
    I meant," said Ipslore bitterly, "what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?"
    Death thought about it.
    "Cats," he said eventually. "Cats are nice."

    -- Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    36,106
    Pat, which method did you try?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hoppy.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	81.1 KB 
ID:	52442 This was done using Firefox ... using the "From Your Computer" method ...
    I've Been Frosted

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    36,106
    And this was done, using the

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	08b.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	67.5 KB 
ID:	52443

    "from URL" method in Firefox.

    What version of Firefox are you running?
    I've Been Frosted

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Karen View Post
    Pat, which method did you try?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hoppy.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	81.1 KB 
ID:	52442 This was done using Firefox ... using the "From Your Computer" method ...
    This method, Karen.

    Firefox 10.0, which just updated itself on this computer (laptop), but this isn't the one on which I have the picture I tried to insert, so I can't try it again right now. I'll let you know after I'm back on the other computer.

    Thanks,
    Pat
    I meant," said Ipslore bitterly, "what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?"
    Death thought about it.
    "Cats," he said eventually. "Cats are nice."

    -- Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    canada ontario
    Posts
    804
    thanks for info
    Hi all cat lovers have a nice day. chack out my meassge Board at
    http://orangeangelcat.proboards22.com/index.cgi

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,983
    Karen, I'm on my desktop machine again now, where I have the kitten's picture. I just upgraded the Firefox to version 10.0 for Windows. Then I tried to insert the picture again "From Computer," and again it did not retrieve and insert the picture.
    I meant," said Ipslore bitterly, "what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?"
    Death thought about it.
    "Cats," he said eventually. "Cats are nice."

    -- Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Waltham, MA, USA
    Posts
    36,106
    Quote Originally Posted by phesina View Post
    Then I tried to insert the picture again "From Computer," and again it did not retrieve and insert the picture.
    What happened when you tried? Can you do a screen capture of any message that comes up? Or at one point does it stop?
    I've Been Frosted

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    12,983
    Karen, I get "Insert Image" with the little picture icon. Then I go to "From Computer" and "Browse" to the file path, then "Upload File(s)." The little rabbit Pet Talk icon at the left side of the browser window tab starts spinning, like it is doing some work. After a little time (actually a fair amount of time), it stops spinning and the rabbit is back and the little "Insert Image" window is gone, leaving the editing screen just as it was before I started the Insert Image process. Once again, no message comes up from the process and the image has NOT been inserted.

    How do I do a screen capture? Not that there is anything to capture here.
    I meant," said Ipslore bitterly, "what is there in this world that truly makes living worthwhile?"
    Death thought about it.
    "Cats," he said eventually. "Cats are nice."

    -- Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright © 2001-2013 Pet of the Day.com