PDA

View Full Version : Deaf Mute Cat

Firedispatcher
03-08-2004, 04:26 PM
Has anyone have a cat that is a deaf/mute? If so could you post or email me your helpful tips?

Kellie is 3 years old and she has been a deaf/mute since birth. She does everything by following the other cats in the house. She does use the litter box on her own, but everything else she is a follower. She is not a cuddler, she seems to advoid human contact, unless she is in season.

Email address is [email protected]

Thanx in advance

Paul

slick
03-09-2004, 08:27 PM
Hi Paul and welcome to Pet Talk. I'm sorry no one has answered your thread yet; I've had no experience with a deaf/mute kitty.

May I ask you a question: what do you mean by "in season"?? At 3 yrs old I would think she would be spayed by now.

Corinna
03-09-2004, 09:19 PM
Welcome Paul . I don't know about cats. I did raise a deaf dog.

moosmom
03-10-2004, 08:11 AM
I'm sorry I don't have any advice on deaf cats. But I DID do some research on Yahoo. Here's what I found...

http://ds.dial.pipex.com/brini/whtdeaf/advice.htm

http://www.messybeast.com/disabled.htm#deaf

http://www.petpeoplesplace.com/Care/Cats/004/06d.htm

I hope these help!

Firedispatcher
03-10-2004, 12:42 PM
Thank you for all that you have done. I did check out the sites on yahoo.

With the deaf dog did he/she live a normal life? Was there anything special that you had to do for him/her?

The question about "In Season". No she hasn't been spayed yet. With all of our girls we have waited till they were 5 years old, before we have them fixed. Someone told us that if you wait the females keep their instincts of grooming better and are less aggressive. All of our guys had been neutered at a couple of months old, so we do not have to worry about accidents,and none of our Guys/Girls are outside cats. We do give the supervised free time outdoors for a couple of minutes to give them fresh air and it is only in our back yard, which is fenced in.