PDA

View Full Version : evil cat food?

ScantyNebula
04-10-2003, 01:09 PM
here (http://v2.vsquare.com/jordemm/article6.htm)

Whoa...

Denyce
04-10-2003, 02:59 PM
Wow.

Ok. Please bear with me here in this post about the evil cat food. That article is extremely interesting. However, like most things that come out of the media you have to read it all with a grain of salt.

My background is a BS in Dairy and Animal Science. I spent a couple of years in my college career learning about the Meat Industry and worked in Meat Science research for several years after I graduated. I have been in meat packing plants all across the US. This includes the big 3 out in the midwest and several smaller ones here in PA. I have been everywhere from the kill floors to the rendering areas. No. They are not pleasant. And I will never say they are. However, not once did I ever see a dead pet or road kill about. That doesn't mean it doesn't happen. I just never witnessed it myself. There are abuses in the meat industry and there is always room for improvement. But there are also alot of good people that their main goal is to provide a safe product. The pet food industry is a offshoot of the meat industry. There has to be a place to go with the parts of animals that we do not eat. I am not going to go into detail about this.