PDA

View Full Version : Chicken Little needs some encouragement!

justjayne
08-04-2007, 06:09 AM
New to the site and have been searching for some information, words of encouragment for a worried doggie mom.

Had dogs of all kinds all my life. Now have two dachshunds; Gunther is 2 and Buddy will be 2 soon. These were rescues and both came to me under 1 year of age.

Throughout my single life, I've had family members, neighbors, friends, or a job that was close and I would come home during the day to let my furry friends out.

Circumstances have now changed and for the first time, I will have to leave these boys alone for long periods of time. I am an ER nurse and work a minimum of three 12+ hour shifts per week. Sometimes those are spread out over 2 wks (3 shifts per wk) other times they are condensed (4 one week and 2 the next)

At this time I am working on affording a pet sitter, but until then, I'd like some support/information/alternatives to help a very anxious, worried, doggie mom.

They were not crate trained and are secluded to one average sized room with a radio, blankets (they chew up dog beds) and food, water.

Thanks for your help!
Jane

Karen
08-04-2007, 06:36 PM
Hmm, how have they been doing so far? They'll probably sleep a lot while you are gone. Any neighbor kids that could come and walk them mid-shift for a dollar or so? And I hope they have plenty of toys with them, right? A frozen Kong filled with peanut butter is a good occupier of time ...

justjayne
08-04-2007, 07:47 PM