PDA

View Full Version : Swollen rectum???

LionHart
07-12-2007, 05:59 PM
Hi. First I admit I've been a lurker for sometime and have learned quite a lot from posters here. I'm new to the world of foster parenting of kitties and thought I'd come there for some advise.

We have 2 litters of fareal kittens and one mother that we rescued from some neighborhood kids who we believe caused 2 to die. They are about 2 months old and have been doing well for the 3 weeks we've had them as far as we can tell considering the trauma they've been through. However, in the last day or so we've noticed a raw, swollen rectum on Frankie. All the babies seem to have loose stool but don't have the raw looking butt. We changed the food, even for the mother, thinking that was causing the problem. The mother had mucous full stool, and at first the vet thought she had a ruptured uterus, but turned out it was a bad case of diarrhea. She was spayed and brought home and with in a day was back to nursing the babies again. Has anyone here experienced this and if so, can you help? Thanks

Roxyluvsme13
07-12-2007, 06:34 PM
Well, it sounds maybe like worms or something.. and I would just take them into the vet :).

Catty1
07-12-2007, 06:44 PM
Also - did the vet treat the momcat for her mucousy bowels?

Could be worms or a parasite - take in a sample of the kittens' stool, a less expensive way to start.

Kittens can get dehydrated easily as they are small.

kittycats_delight
07-12-2007, 07:07 PM
sounds like possible parasites to me too. I am thinking either gardia or coccidea. If this is the case they most definately need to be treated. I would take a stool sample to the vet for testing. 9 chances out of 10 if one has it they all do.

LionHart
07-13-2007, 03:22 PM