PDA

View Full Version : Wet or Dry Food best?

emilysgk
12-05-2006, 12:28 AM
Dry or Wet food? I grew up always taught or just *knowing* supposedly that wet food was bad. I used to think it didnt have as much nutrition and it caused diarhea and loose stools, ect. Well now that im all grown I know a lot of that is most deffinately untrue. But im no expert, so which one is really better for the cats? Or is a little of both better?

krazyaboutkatz
12-05-2006, 12:36 AM
I think that most people will tell you that you should feed your cats both. I've had cats that don't like wet food very much though. Right now I feed dry to everyone and a little wet to Sunny and Storm. I know that cats should have a variety. When Starr eats too much wet he will get very loose stools even though I've asked my vet about this and he said this shouldn't be the cause.

emilysgk
12-05-2006, 12:58 AM
What are better wet foods also? I was doing some comparing today and was slightly confused... I figured higher protein should be better right? Yet I noticed some more high end brands had less protein, but more fat? Also ingrediants, same thing. I assumed that a specific meat, not broth or meal, ect should be the primary ingredient. Yet I found that going by names I would normally call a decent food... it dont always seem to work. I dont feed anything fancy either. Im just talking like Iams, Friskies, 9 Lives and the like. I cant afford anything costly, I wish I could. I even seen a couple store brand wet foods (NOT the dry) that almost seemed to have better ingridiants and analysis... unless I dont know what im looking for?

dvp1636
12-05-2006, 03:24 PM