PDA

View Full Version : Here are pictures of my family

Freedom
09-22-2006, 05:29 PM
This is my first attempt at including photos in a thread. I have them as attachments; don't know if you will be able to see them.

The first photo is a family portrait from November, 2005. My Dad lives with me, so he is in the picture.

I am holding Ruffles, she is about 15. I am her 3rd owner. Her first owner died after 10 years. Her second owner moved into elder housing and was only permitted one cat; she had two. That is how Ruffles came to me.

Dad is holding Cuddles. Cuddles was a stray, picked up by the city shelter at about 6 months of age, and very pregnant. She was terrified of people. She had 2 lovely kittens, both were adopted. Then she was spayed. Then the shelter did a bad thing: they took in 3 baby raccoons and let people visit and pet them. It developed that one of the kits had rabies. So the shelter was closed and put into quarantine for 6 months. No one wanted to adopt Cuddles, because she was so terrified of people. When they adopt a new pet, they want to interact with it! When she had been at the shelter for 18 months (!) the animal control officer decided it was time to make room for a more adoptable feline. The receptionist phoned me to hurry down. She gave Cuddles to me; no paper work, no adoption fee. Just handed me the cat and her medical records! At 2 years old, she was in a home for perhaps the first time in her life. Cuddles has been living with us for 14 months. She is still making progress. Just being out of the cage and in a room was terrifying for her. It took her 3 weeks to come out of the carrier and be comfortable in a room. A whole house? That took more time. She will come to me in the middle of the night for some petting. We still are not permitted to look at her or talk to her in daylight. She wants to be invisible. Her mad cap scampers to safety under the bed are fewer each week, thank goodness.