PDA

View Full Version : Are there health problems with cat eating birds?

mdsved
05-24-2002, 03:54 PM
My cat likes to eat birds. She eats the whole bird,- head, feathers etc.

Any health risks with this?

Tubby & Peanut's Mom
05-24-2002, 05:16 PM
I would say, No, mdsved, but I'm not an expert. I would not encourage your kitty to eat birds, but it is a natural instinct so I don't think it will hurt them.

However, my mom lets her cat outside on a leash, and he has been known to catch the occassional bird, mole, chipmunk, mouse, whatever he can. One time he got really sick, wouldn't eat or drink for days and just laid around the house. She was about to take him to the vet when he started perking up and eating and drinking again so she never really found out what the problem was, but she figured he must have eaten a critter that was sick or maybe had gotten into some poison somewhere and that made the poor kitty sick.

So if your kitty goes outside, don't feed the birds and encourage them to come around, and if you see your kitty lurking around a bird feeder or something, get the squirt bottle out because you just never know.

AmberLee
05-24-2002, 08:15 PM
Yes, welcome to Pet Talk! I love it here and hope you will come to love it, too. Tell us more about your cat(s) please!

I would discourage your cat from eating birds, although if they are healthy there should be no health impact for the cat. The ecological impact is more what concerns me...

I've been trying to fight back a flippant response ever since I first read your post (so sorry all bird lovers here) -- that the health impact to the cat was negligible so long as the bird was healthy, but the impact on the birds was incredibly bad. :D ;) :eek: (some days I just can't control myself. Sorry!)

mdsved
05-24-2002, 09:46 PM
I was wondering if there are any diseases that Gracie could brind into the house by eating birds, mice, chipmunks, hamsters, etc...