Pet of the Day

May 14, 2005

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
Hocus Pocus
Name: Hocus Pocus "Brandy"
Age: Eleven years old
Gender: Female
Kind: Appaloosa,
Arabian Horse
Home: Camarillo, California, USA
 
   This is my horse, Brandy. I've had her for a little more than six months now, and am absolutely in love. I saw her on a website one day when my parents and I were almost giving up from looking for the perfect jumper. My dad wouldn't call since he didn't want a pony (she's 14'2 hands high, the maximum height for a pony), and my mom wouldn't call either, but until I finished my first hour of begging, they gave in. It sounded interesting, so we went down to see the little pony and fell in love. After seeing her twice more, we bought her and took her home.

    In the beginning, we didn't quite understand each other, but my trainer soon fixed that and we're currently together every hour of every day riding and playing. We've competed in two horse shows (all though its still not show season!), one "A" circuit jumper show that I placed 2nd in and one "C" circuit jumper show that I placed three firsts and 1 sixth (not very impressive) in.

    I'd say what makes Brandy special is the look she gives me when I walk down the barn aisle and see her staring back at me through the bars as if pleading to come out and play. She's made me so happy through these months and continues to do so every day. She's also taught me everything I know about jumpers and has blown my mind every day we work on the big fences, like the 3'6-4'0 fences that she clears with ease.

Talk about today's pet in Pet Talk!