Pet of the Day

October 28, 2004

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
T-37, the Pet of the Day
Name: T-37
Age: Nine months old
Gender: Male
Kind: American budgie
Home: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
 
   Hello! My name is T-37, and I am an American budgie. I live in Mississippi, and I am named after a USAF pilot training jet. I live in a nice roomy cage with my four best friends, Skyblue, Tonks and Luna. When my caretaker brought me home, the other three budgies were already here, but they were very kind to me and made me feel right at home. My caretaker tells me I am a very sweet bird, and I really do try to be. I like to spend time outside my cage, sitting on my caretaker's hand, nibbling at her fingers. Her fingers fascinate me for some reason.

    Sometimes I decide to fly to the other side of the room, but when my caretaker comes over to me and puts her finger in front of me, I feel compelled to step up onto her finger. I don't know why. I can't seem to help myself. I have a very quiet little whistle, and most of the time I can't be heard above the noise my three companions make. They tell me I need to assert myself a little more, but I'm afraid I'm not the aggressive type. I leave that kind of thing to the boss of the cage, Skyblue.

    As you can see from my photograph, my favorite food is millet. Unfortunately, I only get it as an occasional treat. And I have to share it with my three friends, and believe me; one sprig of millet doesn't go very far when four of us are dining. Most of the time, my caretaker insists on giving me carrots and other vegetables. Carrots in particular leave an embarrassing orange stain on my wimple, but they do taste good. All in all, I think I like living here, except for the millet situation of course.

Talk about today's pet in Pet Talk!