Pet of the Day

February 27, 2002

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
Jem and Dill, the Pets of the Day
Name: Jem, Dill
Age: Two and a half years old
Gender: Male
Kind: Guinea Pigs
Home: UK
 
   Hi! My name's Jem and here I am with my brother Dill. He's the ginger one on the right, and I'm the good-looking one on the left. We've lived together at our Mum's house since we were eight weeks old. Unfortunately Dill was very poorly when he was a baby, due to Vitamin C deficiency. It was touch-and-go for a while, but I helped to nurse him back to health. One day he started eating again and just hasn't stopped! Our very favorite food is carrots, which we squeak for and fight over every morning. We also really like grass and lettuce. We've recently developed a taste for electric cables, which makes our Mum a bit worried. She has to unplug everything before we are allowed to run about on the floor.

    In the cold weather we are lucky to live inside. For the summer we have an outside house which we love to sit in and feel the breeze in our fur. We love it so much that we even squeak to go in it in the winter! We get on well most of the time, but sometimes we bicker and argue like most brothers do. It's usually when Dill gets in my way or tries to steal my food. He complains that I take his food too, but I can assure you that it's not true! Our names are nice and short and easy to remember. Our Mum named us after some characters in a book called To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. We know some cats named after two of the other characters, Atticus and Scout.
 

Talk about today's pet in Pet Talk!