Pet of the Day

December 2, 2001

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
Gracie, the Pet of the Day
Name: Gracie
Age: Two years, three months old
Gender: Female
Kind: African Pigmy Hedgehog
Home: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
 
   What makes my Gracie special? Well, for starters, her nickname is "The Diva". That should give you some indication of whom I share my life with! Gracie is very much her own person, doing what she wants to do at all times and pretty much disregarding my wishes. She likes to run in her ball, eat meal worms, and sleep. She also enjoys burrowing in to mounds of blankets and exploring. My animal companion Gracie is the love of my life!

    I have a friend who has hedgehogs. Once I met them I knew I needed to have one for myself! When one of her females had babies, I got Gracie. She is my first (but won't be my last) hedgehog. They make wonderful companions. My Gracie is extremely independent, if she doesn't want to do it, she won't. She does know her name and will react when I use it when talking to her. While she is independent, she likes to snuggle with me in the evening on the sofa. Her favorite game is peek-a-boo. I have several baby blankets (like the one in the photo), that she snuggles in with me. We play peek-a-boo with each other, me lifting an edge up to see her, and she peeking out from under the blanket or hiding her face depending on her mood! Her other favorite activity is running in her exercise ball around the house, banging into as many things as she possibly can!
 

Find out how your pet
could be Pet of the Day.