Pet of the Day

March 6, 2000

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
Charlie, the Pet of the Day
Name: Charlie
Age: Eight months old
Gender: Male
Breed: Dwarf Lop Rabbit
Home: Orpington, Kent, England
 
   Hello, my name is Charlie and I am a house rabbit. During the day I live in my cage in the living room, but as soon as my humans, Debbie and Leo arrive home, I have a snack then I come out for a run. I get so happy that I say "hmm, hmm, hmm" very loudly and if the living room door is open I run straight upstairs to the bedroom. Most of the time I am well-behaved, but occasionally I tease Debbie and Leo by eating a corner of the new wallpaper, or chewing the new carpet. Then they try to put me back in my cage, but I just run around the room as fast as I can, flicking my back feet in defiance until they give up. If I am too tired to run then I just lie flat and make myself look cute so that they give me a long cuddle instead, and I grind my teeth to show my appreciation, and lick their hands. My favorite past time is eating. I like to eat bananas, carrots, cream crackers, cardboard, table legs, Debbie's hair, and sometimes when Leo gets in my way I even nip his bottom. In the evening as a special treat I am allowed to hop into a big tub of hay and eat as much as I can before I have to go to bed. Apparently this is good for me because it helps to keep my teeth in trim and is better for me than chocolate, although I do prefer chocolate and occasionally manage to steal some. I am looking forward to the Spring because hopefully Debbie's Dad will make me a pen so I will be able to go outside for a run on the lawn. I will listen to the birds, take in some sun... and eat lots of grass. Debbie and Leo adore me because I am so cuddly and because I keep them amused for hours with all my mischief.
 

Find out how your pet
could be Pet of the Day.