Pet of the Day

July 27, 1999

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
Meeko, the Pet of the Day
Name: Meeko
Age: Two years old
Gender: Female
Breed: Angus, Brangus Mix
Home: Lakeland, Florida, USA
 
   My name is Meeko. I am two years old. I am a Angus and Brangus mixed heifer. I am pregnant and will be giving birth any time soon. I live in Lakeland, Florida, and I am a show cow. I enjoy going to the show, and winning ribbons and trophies. I also enjoy getting all the attention from anyone. The highest I have ever received in a show is Revised Grand Champion, and I also get first and second place ribbons.

    Meeko is special because when I first started showing she was my first cow. But now I have two more show cows. To show a cow you have to do a lot of work you have to halter-break them and also teach them things they need to know for shows. Before the shows you have to clip their hair, give them a bath, blow dry them, brush them, and on long cattle you have to use adhesives to keep there hair in place, and then you have to put the show halter on them. When you enter the show ring you will have to walk them around in a circle and then they will have you line up in a line. Then you have to set their feet up with a show stick so that their feet are in the shape of a rectangle. Then the judge looks to see which one has the straightest back, filled out to their frame the best, and over all the best appearance to their knowledge.

    Most of the time Meeko has a good personality like she always wants to be petted and loved on, but every once in a while she don't want you to mess with her. She likes to play with little kids, but she doesn't ever hurt them. The way she plays with them is to try to head but them. This will be her first calf.
 

Find out how your pet
could be Pet of the Day.