Pet of the Day

October 7, 1998

Today's Pet
Nominate Your Pet
Previous Pets
Pet Talk
Poll
Search
Links
Why?
About Us
Lilly, the Pet of the Day
Name: Lilly
Age: 13 years old
Gender: Female
Breed: American Saddlebred
Home: Durand, Michigan, USA
 
   My horse's name is Shantilly Filly (Lilly). She is an American Saddlebred horse, and is about 16-1 hands. I live in Swartz Creek, Michigan but Lilly lives in Durand, Michigan at my grandparent's farm.

    I think many things make her special. She was my first real horse. I'd ridden my neighbor's pony for a few years but began riding Lilly when she turned four. I was only seven at the time. We've been inseparable since then. We've gone to our first shows together and learned many new things. She and I have learned to do dressage, jumping, side saddle, and hunt seat together, as well as attending our first 4-H trail ride last fall. We have won both the Saddle Seat Pleasure and Saddle Seat Equitation classes at the county fair for two consecutive years.

    At this year's fair, another of the 4-H members competed with her. The girl was a six-year-old cloversprout and she made her show-ring debut in the walk-trot cloversprout classes by winning both. Lilly and I have also competed in the Michigan State 4-H horse show and received two 4th place awards. Lilly is not just a show horse. We also enjoy the occasional cross country hack - down the road, through the woods, and in a field. I hope to have many more wonderful years with this mare. She's my best friend.
 

Find out how your pet
could be Pet of the Day.