Thread: Advice on paper training

Advice on paper training

I've got a beagle/cocker spaniel mix that likes to piddle. I'm not sure of his age, but I'm thinking around 6-8 months. He already goes on his paper...the first month and a half we had him (got him for Christmas) he would go into the bathroom and use his paper. We lock him into the bathroom on cold nights, but most of the time he's an outdoor dog.

The problem is the last couple of weeks, he's decided that the middle of the living room floor is better. WE really don't have enough of a yard on any side of the house (I'm a resident manager of a self-storage facility) to take him outside, so paper training is essential. I already know how to train a dog to go outside, but I've never done paper training before.

I need help here, because while I have patience for animals, my husband does NOT. He doesn't like dogs at all, and would sooner chunk the pup in the yard and leave him there. I need to get this little one trained to paper, or we'll wind up having to leave him outside in the little tiny back yard (we're talking very small, here. A larger dog wouldn't be comfortable, at all) all the time. I want him to be able to come in and sit with us.

Thanks in advance for advice.

You don't have enough room to take him outside? I don't understand that part.

I will say that paper training sometimes causes problems. Such as, you can never leave a newspaper or anything similar laying on the floor for the rest of the pup's life, or it may be made into a toilet Are you paper training because you're not home a lot? I would strongly suggest just training him to go outside. He's an older puppy so he won't have to go outside as frequently as a baby.

Please don't let your husband turn him into a backyard doggie
    Alyson
    Shiloh, Reece, Lolly, Skylar
    and fosters Snickers, Missy, Magic, Merlin, Maya

Hi,

I've never paper trained a pup older than a few
    weeks & then it was just a temporary thing. Picking