Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help!!!

Need Help!!!

We came home (From the PET store) and found a Cockatiel walking around the pavement, a cat chasing after it!!! I freaked out and Justin caught him, and he stayed in his hands. So I called the SPCA ... of course, not open. So now we have a cockatiel in our laundry room .. and I have no idea what to do!

What are they like?? What do they eat?? We have seeds (hamster food) .. is that okay to give them? No stores are open now so we have to make do with what we have here.

I'm going to call the SPCA first thing tomorrow .. but for the meantime I need some help on this bird .. Its my first time around one .. I'm also afraid if he might be sick, I can't tell ...

P.S .. HE IS ADORABLE!

Johanna

OMG i think ur lucky sry, i don't know anything bout cockatiels but i rly rly want a budgie, my dad saw one hopping around trying to get in the house on my bday he KNEW i wanted one but he didn't want to pick it up so, by the time i woke up it was gone. Typical!! sorry i guess im kinda spamming on ur thread i'll leave now
    good luck with the birdie!!

I think I'll have a hard time when his owners get him now! lol We already gave him a temporary name, Spencer. We get attatched way to fast .. hehe

I feel so bad for the people that must be SO worried about him right now .. I know that I would be hysterical

He's adorable! I just brought it a dry cracker and he had a few nibbles of it .. he just seems reaaaaly tired so we're leaving him alone.

He's using my bike as a perch .. lol

Anyway .. plz help with some suggestions on what I should do next ...

Found online:

A good choice is to feed them a diet of pet bird pellets, fresh veggies, and treats like whole-grain bread, bits of chicken meat, boiled egg (boil for at least 15 minutes), and an occasional bit of fresh seed.
    Also I saw a suggestion that Cheerios or other dried crunchy cereal would be good for him.