Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Are (or were) your parents strict on your grades?

Are (or were) your parents strict on your grades?

My parents and I were discussing this the other day, and I thought it would be an interesting topic.

My grandpa was VERY strict on my mom's grades. He wanted her to be the "4.0 GPA, straight A student". So, she had excellent grades throught out high school, and ended up graduating #7 in her high school class. (I guess it payed off! )

Thankfully, my mom isn't as strict on my grades as her father was. But, she's not one of those parents that "doesn't care" either. She expects me to have quality, decent grades.

If this is a dumb topic, please let me know.

I didn't have to have all A's but my parents made sure I did the best that I could. If I made a B in the class and my parents knew that I studied hard for it then they were happy for me. But if I made a B and my parents knew that I slacked off then they would be upset with me.
    I've been Defrosted!

Thanks for the great signature Kay!

My parents were very strict about grades. Anything less than a B would get you grounded for a week - the theory was the lower the grade the longer you'd be grounded - not that I ever tested that theory! Thankfully, I liked school (when I wasn't bored).

I was "plagued" (saying that tongue in cheek) with parents who never made a B in their life, therefore, they didn't expect us to either!!! Of course, that didn't necessarily work for me, but I made it through high school just fine, was accepted to the college of my choice, and graduated in 4 years, just as they expected me to. So I guess their sort of pressure was exactly what I needed!

I find myself to be a tough mom too, and my daughter knows I expect good grades because I know she is capable. I've told her that I don't get angry with B's, but since I know she has plenty of time to work hard and keep those A's, that's what I expect!! So far, she hasn't let me down! She's in the 7th grade now.