Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Grammar, spelling and punctuation refreshers??

Grammar, spelling and punctuation refreshers??

This is sort of a lame question, but oh well...I've noticed that my writing as slowly but surely went to heck since I left school. (Especially punctuation.) Is there any online refreshers or any simple and quick programs that you all know of?

Anyone up for starting a thread with lessons? You younger ones could help us out that haven't been to school in a while.

I'm not sure that im too good with punctuation, but im good with spelling!

I can't believe how much you can lose it if you don't use it. I used to be good at that stuff, now I'm always having to stare at what I type. lol. Thank God for spell check, but I still need a punctuation, grammar, and format check.

im pretty good at grammer, but punctuation, thats a big no! lol

Any specific questions, just ask me! I'm an editor/proofreader (as well as Art Director) at my "other" job. And if I ever am a gazillionaire, I will institute mandatory attendance, nationwide apostrophe seminars. This week, I went into two businesses near where I work to tell them they had mistakes in signs in their windows. They took it in good humor, at least!

I don't mind answering specific questions either. I used to be an English teacher, now as a university prof. trying to get tenure, I have to write quite a bit.

Oh, and language is my field, LOL.

I'll look for a couple of online lessons.
    -babolaypo

Only that which is the other gives us fully unto ourselves.
    -Sri Yogananda

It's important to have an end to journey toward but it's the journey that matters in the end.
    -Ursula Leguin

I looked under ESL (English as a Second Language) since that would be a likely place to find things for adults. This website looks promising:

http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/index2.html
    -babolaypo

Only that which is the other gives us fully unto ourselves.
    -Sri Yogananda