Thread: American Kestral Found!

American Kestral Found!

Hello, this is my first time here, and I was wondering if someone might have some advice for me.

My husband found an American Kestral nest in a garage door opener which had 3 babies in it. The door was being repaired, so he took one of the babies home and is trying to tame it. Had he of left it there, it would have died because the door was being repaired. Is it illegal to keep this bird?

We've had the bird for a couple of weeks now and have been feeding him hamburger meat. He has grown a significant amount and all his feathers have become more defined. At the moment he is teaching himself how to fly.

However, the other day, I noticed that both the cat and the dog have fleas. I am convinced that it's from the new bird, but my husband says that birds do not carry fleas. I have tried looking on the internet but have found conflicting answers.

I appreciate your help.

Melissa
    Ontario, Canada

Hello!

I am not sure about Canada, but here in the United States, it is extremely illegal to own birds of prey. Some people do own falcons for hunting, but they have a special permit which is hard to obtain. I am sure it is illegal to own them in Canada too. If you get caught (here in the US) with a bird of prey with no permit, you are in huge trouble. Fines range from $500-$50,000 depending on the bird, laws broken, etc. and you may spend any where from 2-10 years in jail.

My advice to you would be to call the DNR (Department of Natural Resources- if you have one, or any wildlife service. Tell them the situation, and they can give you some good advice, and possibly re-locate them to a more proper area.

My only concern is that since you guys have been having this bird in your care (most likely illegally), and it is getting used to humans, and isn't learning proper strategies for living on its own, this bird may never be released back to where it belongs- in the wild.