Thread: Eye infection not getting better

Eye infection not getting better

I have been fostering kittens for a couple years now. I guess I have been lucky up til this year. Last kittens I had, had diarrhea and my 15 year old cat ended up with it. And just recently I had another litter which looked healthy but soon got sick. Lethargic and very infected eyes. I asked the foster place to take the kittens back so my old kitty doesn't get sick again. Unfortunately I guess it was too late, not for old kitty but for my 2 year old.

He now has a very swollen eye and was very lethargic for a few days. His energy has gotten better but not his eye. I had him to the vet on Tuesday and got ointment. I've been giving it to him as the vet said and cleaning it out several times a day.

I don't think it's really getting better. I don't know what to do as the vet is closed for the weekend now and Monday is Holiday.

Someone suggested maybe stopping this medicine and trying polysporin pink eye drops for a couple days.

Any suggestions?

(No place to upload photos on a phone?)

Quote Originally Posted by Sowa View Post
    I have been fostering kittens for a couple years now. I guess I have been lucky up til this year. Last kittens I had, had diarrhea and my 15 year old cat ended up with it. And just recently I had another litter which looked healthy but soon got sick. Lethargic and very infected eyes. I asked the foster place to take the kittens back so my old kitty doesn't get sick again. Unfortunately I guess it was too late, not for old kitty but for my 2 year old.

He now has a very swollen eye and was very lethargic for a few days. His energy has gotten better but not his eye. I had him to the vet on Tuesday and got ointment. I've been giving it to him as the vet said and cleaning it out several times a day.

I don't think it's really getting better. I don't know what to do as the vet is closed for the weekend now and Monday is Holiday.