Thread: my dog has a little weight problem

my dog has a little weight problem

I have a shih tzu bichon mix that should be a little dog, but really isn't. He has a little weight problem. I have been feeding him science diet light for about 6-8 months and he has only lost 2 pounds. He weighs 27 and the vet said he should weigh about 15 pounds. He only gets one treat in the morning and 1/2 cup of food a day. I'm sure there are some days that people slip him more food, but that's not often that I know of. Does anybody have any suggestions for me on what to feed my dog, (forget the green beans, he actually gagged when I fed them to him) Is there a different kind of diet food that works better? Any suggestions will be appreciated

Hey there!

Have you read the food label to see how much he should be fed on that food, based on what his weight should be? Each food is different, so I really don't know if what you are feeding him is too much or not.

Do you take him for daily walks? Start with about 10 minutes per day, work up to half an hour.

I have 4 bichons, we walk an hour daily, weather permitting.

If you only feed him one meal a day, I suggest splitting it and feeding him two or three smaller meals a day. This will help speed up his metabolism so he will burn calories quicker. I always feed my dogs two smaller meals a day rather than giving it to them all in one go now.

Make sure his food isn't too high in protein as well. 18% is high enough.

I also agree about a bit more exercise too.

Also, just because you don't know about others in the house feeding him sneaky treats, that doesn't mean it doesn't happen and it's surprising how little it seems to take to make them pile on the pounds so be sure to have strict talks with other humans who live with you about not feeding him surplus treats that are only going to be a hazard to his health.
    Dogs are not our whole lives but they make our lives whole.

www.tmhudsonfineart.co.uk