Thread: The Shelters Lament(WARNING Graphic!!!)

The Shelters Lament(WARNING Graphic!!!)

This is very graphic, I couldn't even read all of it. I received it in an email listing

All animal lovers should read this.
    This was posted in the "Best of Craiglist". It was not written by me.
    YOU SHOULD ALL READ IT. Everyone who wants a pet should know exactly what happens if they decide they can't keep their pet anymore. Not all shelters are exactly the same, but this was written by a shelter manager, and I appreciated the post:

THE SHELTER MANAGER’S LAMENT

“I am posting this (and it is long) because I think our society needs a huge “Wake-up” call.

As a shelter manager, I am going to share a little insight with you all...a view from the inside if you will.

Breeders Need Not Apply

First off, this is a forum to for adoption and/or rehoming as clearly stated in the rules. All of you breeders/sellers on craigslist should not only be flagged (and I hope the good people on craigslist will continue to do so with blind fury), but you should be made to work in the “back” of an animal shelter for just one day. Maybe if you saw the life drain from a few sad, lost, confused eyes, you would change your mind about breeding and selling to people you don’t even know…that puppy you just sold will most likely end up in my shelter when it’s not a cute little puppy anymore.

So how would you feel if you knew that there’s about a 90% chance that dog will never walk out of the shelter it is going to be dumped at? Purebred or not! About 50% of all of the dogs that are “owner surrenders” or “strays”, that come into my shelter are purebred dogs.

No Shortage of Excuses

The most common excuses I hear are:

“We are moving and we can’t take our dog (or cat).”

Really? Where are you moving to that doesn’t allow pets?

“The dog got bigger than we thought it would.”

How big did you think a German Shepherd would get?

“We don’t have time for her….”