Thread: Nail clipping

Former User Guest

Nail clipping

Can anyone tell us how often we should cut our cat's nails?
    We just did it the first time today, and both Casper and Kitty were very good about it.

I think you'll know, Niina when they start getting sharp on your leg or arm! Butter had his done about 3 weeks ago, and I can tell it will need to be done again real soon. Maybe once a month or so? I'm not very experienced at this topic, because I don't clip Mimi's, never have. She doesn't "use" them the way Butter does! The vet did it for me while Butter was sedated. I'm not sure I'm brave enough to tackle his nails on my own either! Yikes!! It could be ugly!!

Logan

Logan's right, you'll eventually get a "feel" of when they need clipping!

My cats are also indoor cats, and one of them needs hers clipped weekly! The rest need it less often, but generally every two to four weeks is normal.

Former User Guest
    Thanx Logan and Leah. As we said, it was only the first time we did it today, can't believe it actually! But they are so active that their nails aren't growing. Now they seemed to be a bit longer and we thought to cut them since Casper started chewing them... I think we will see what happens, and every 2 weeks sounds good, esp. now that summer is coming and I'm sure they won't be so active when it's warmer.

I was also surprised how good they both behaved while cutting the nails, Casper wanted to watch all the time Kitty was a bit more difficult, but she didn't mind it either. I was expecting a fight or something, but I'm glad I was wrong

You have to buy cat nail clippers from the pet store - they aren't too expensive. And to learn how much to cut off - I think that's best to be learned from a demonstration. I learned from my vet. If you cut too short the nail can bleed and it's quite dangerous - kitty can bleed to death from a nail. Realisticly, only the tip with the sharp part needs to come off