Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Need Some Advice...

Need Some Advice...

As most of you know, I'm currently majoring in Animal Science. My intentions originally were to go to vet school and be a vet. Well, since then I've done a lot of thinking.

Vet school is $20,000+ a year, plus you can't work and be a full time vet student so more than likely you're going to have to take out double your loans to live on. I don't think I want to be that much in debt in addition to the $20,000 + I would already have to pay for undergrad.

Well anyway, I'm feeling pretty miserable about school right now. I hate going and I hate going to all my classes. I'm not doing well in any of them because I don't have the motivation to anymore. Basically I wish I was either at home or in another college because I can't stand UT anymore.

Well yesterday I looked into veterinary technology schools. I've had lots of people tell me that its not going to be worth my time because I won't get a decent pay rate and they're not needed in the area. That doesn't really deter me though, I can always move. So I started an application for a vet tech program about an hour north of me. I'm gonna finish it up today and get my transcripts ordered within the next week.

My problem is this though. Should I finish out this semester, or should I go ahead and withdraw from the university? I'm pretty sure I can get accepted at one of the vet tech schools and I need some time off anyway before I start this next two years of college before I go crazy. So, what should I do?

I would put your application in for vet tech school and finish out your semester at the University. Jmo

My question is, WHY do you hate going to your classes? What makes you so unmotivated?