Thread: Breeding Bettas

Breeding Bettas

Hi

This is my first time so here goes. I am currently trying to breed my betta fish. I am at the stage that the bubble nest has been made, my female added and they have chased and fought. She now has vertical lines across here body and the little white line at the bottom of her abdomen is showing. She courts him occasionally under the nest so all looks good. My concern is that she is constanly curling her body and resting on the bottom of the tank I know she gets beaten by him and exhausted buy I am very worried that this constant curling and resting means she is dying. Does anyone know if this is normal.
    Last edited by kirstymacaulay; 08-31-2005 at 12:40 PM.
    Kirsty Mac

i am not sure what to do. you can go on the internet and look on websites. good luck.
    Welcome to PT!

Breeding of Bettas

My father breed Betta fish. I am very familiar with the breeding process. It is really cool to watch!!!
    You can put as many females together as you like but only 1 male. When breeding it is a good idea to ONLY have 1 female and 1 male in the Breeding tank. There are special tank set ups for breeding Betta's. They are longer narrower tanks with seperators. You will need that or another tank. It does take 2 tanks to breed successfully.
    The MALE makes a bubble nest on top of the water. They will do this regardless if it is mating or not. It is the MALE's job to take care of the babies NOT the female's. So do NOT keep the female fish with the eggs/nest/male. The female needs removed a day or two AFTER eggs have been placed in the nest by the male.
    The breeding process is the coolest part. Now that the female is filled with eggs. Evident with the full belly. The MALE then WRAPS itself around the FEMALE and SQUEZES the eggs out!!! The MALE then picks up the eggs and puts them in the bubble nest. The eggs may be picked up prior to hitting the bottom of the aquarium.