Thread: Can kittens play too rough and hurt each other?

Can kittens play too rough and hurt each other?

I'm fostering three little kittens. I picked them up last Wednesday and their socialization is going well. They are about 7 weeks old. This is my first time fostering.

When I let them out to play at night, they play really hard and rough. Last night the most aggressive one wouldn't stop attacking one of the others, the largest one. This was after 40 minutes of solid play (What energy!). Both kittens were visibly panting.

The largest one seemed to lose his temper and then the play seem to "go over the edge." I mean they seemed genuinely angry, especially the large one. I separated them for a little while. They were tired and hungry anyway.

My question: I would like to let them have free roam of the spare bedroom and stop putting them back in the cage. Since I would no longer be around to supervise, I'm concerned that the play could escalate and one of them actually hurt the other because they are so aggressive.

Am I being over protective? I have separated my adult cats after they began serious cat fighting, but they are not littermates.

I have no experience with multiple kittens, so I'm hoping Pet Talkers can help me out!

Thanks, Pat

If You Don't Talk To Your Cat About Catnip, Who Will?