Thread: German Shorthaired Pointers.... anyone know anything about them?

German Shorthaired Pointers.... anyone know anything about them?

Does anyone know aything about German Shorthaitred Pointers? My dad and I are deciding between a Golden Retriever, and a GSP. He thinks they are such pretty dogs. Any information about the breed would help, thanks! I am going to be doing lots of research on both breeds, before I choose which one to get.

Kaitlyn (the human)
    Sadie & Rita (Forever in Our Hearts) (the Labbies)

I love GSP's!!! Miranda _Rae has one named Heidi, you shuld PM her I don't know if she's still around because she said she was getting rid of the internet but try jsut incase. Here's a link to what the AKC wrote about them:
    German Shorthair's

Journey - 2yr old Australian Shepherd
    Ripley - 5 1/2yr old Doberman
    Dance RN CGN FM - 7 1/2yr old Toller

Hi!!! German Shorthairs aren't for everyone. I'm no expert on them, but there are some things I do know about them. They are hyper dogs, more hyper than labs or Goldens. You have to have the time to spend training them, taking them out so that they learn to behave proper (just like any other dog), and exposing them to as many situtations as possible or else you might end up with a dog who is very hyper. People say that they don't shed very much, but that is NOT true. They shed, and you have to comb them once a week. You have to make sure that you clean their ears or else they might get infections in them. They have to have a lot of exercise, where they go outside at least an hour a day and RUN, or else you can have a dog that gets nervous, agitated, and destructive. Oh yes, they whine too. They are natorious for that....for being so vocal. They drowl when they get excited too, well at least Heidi does and a lady who used to breed them says hers did too. Besides all that, they are VERY loyal, they love anyone and everyone, not a dog you would want for a guard dog, although they will bark when someone