Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trimming claws

Trimming claws

OK I am new at this I did one successful claw trimming last week but the claws are again like needles. I just tried another trim. I got TWO claws done. ONE on each baby! Would it be normal for these babies to scream like I am killing them and to bite me?

Well, I gritted my teeth and got the fronts done But, not with out getting shredded and bleeding and bitten. Little shits! I have never heard shrieking like that, either! Eliot came in and glared at me while I tortured them, too.

I don't know. We finally gave up and started going to the vet's every 6 weeks or so.

As I understand it, it's normal and it improves over time.*

* Caveat: I'm a chicken wimp and haven't done it except when the fur-kids are sleeping...
    I'm sometimes asked "Why do you spend so much of your time and money talking about kindness to animals when there is so much cruelty to men?" I answer: "I am working at the roots." -George T. Angell, reformer (1823-1909)

Thank you, Popcornbird for creating this tribute to Summer starring Livvy and Cassy

Livvy: 11 April 99 - 5 July 09
    Cassy: 11 July 99 - 8 April 11

If you would like to visit my BeautiConsultant page --
    http://www.beautipage.com/serene_angel_hm_spa/

Gasp! Oh, such language!

I never have much trouble trimming nails around here. Zelda's the one that gives me the most trouble in that department, mostly because she likes to pull her foot out of the way just as I'm getting the clippers in position. I can massage her little foot all I want, but the moment the clippers come out... You'd think Mowgli would be the nail-trimming problem child, but no....

I just keep the clippers close at hand and when either of my babies wants a snuggle session, I just start examining toesies when they get comfy, and if there's a long nail or two... Snip-snip! Problem fixed. It's rare to get all those little nails at once though.