Thread: I'm adopting a new cat

I'm adopting a new cat

Hi, my last experiences with an adopted cat were not good, he was an outside cat and he ran away after seeming to be happy with us for 3 weeks.
    Now a friend wants me to take her persian 5 year old inside cat because of a new baby in the house( no time for the cat).
    My question is will the cat at her age be able to adjust? How should I entroduce her to her new home and how do I "make friends" with a cat when we don't know each other?
    Need help here.
    Thanks

My cats, the ones that have adopted me, are ages 11, 10, and 2. So, I have not seen an adjustment problem due to age.

I started to give some tips on introducing her to your house, but decided not to send them since I am not a pet expert. There are many others on this BBS, which can give much valuable information.

------------------
    Recently adopted by 3 cats: Jackson, Rosie, Fluffy; a dog: Eli; some fish, and my fiancee: Lynn (Vi Co Bi)

Yay! I'm glad you are willing to give it another go after your first adopted cat disappeared. I imagine things will be much better this time with the new cat, especially because it is used to being an "indoor" cat.

I honestly don't think it will matter that the cat is a 5 year old. Unless it was incredibly attached to its previous owner, I think it will make the adjustment to your home just fine.

When you first bring the cat home, I think the best thing is to just let the cat explore on its own. It will probably want to sniff EVERYthing it sees, just to check it all out. If you just let the cat do its own thing for a while, without giving it too much attention, that will help the cat with the transition.