Thread: Hamster health - any good websites?

Hamster health - any good websites?

Hi all. Happy Thanksgiving to America.

This is my first time posting something on Pettalk but I have been an avid follower of the site since being introduced to it in 2001.

I have a big favour to ask all you pet lovers. My little hamster is ill and I want to look up websites that are reliable for help.

I have taken him to the vet for his diarrhoea problem. But am not sure if he is out of the woods as yet. Also his eye seems to have gunk/discharge and I want to know if I should dab it or leave it. The little critter has been thru alot the past 2 weeks Each time I pick him up to pet him and check on his underside, he squirms. I don't blame him, I would too. My heart really aches to see him so uncomfortable (((( Weighed him at the vet's, he is only 80grams.

Biscuit is my 4th syrian hamster (Feb 2003-now). I had 3 other syrians, Pork Ham (1998-2000), Beef Bacon (1998-2001) and Lamb Chops (2001-2002).

Any help is greatly appreciated!Thanks !! )))

It's ok. I came home from work to find Biscuit had already passed on. He was a great companion and I miss him lots. I still cannot comprehend that he is dead esp since he seemed to be recovering after a traumatic week of battling diarrhoea.

Anyone know any good websites for grief counselling for pet owners instead :'-((((

Thanks

I'm sorry about your hammy.

This a great poem to all grieving pet owners.

Rainbow Bridge

Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.