Thread: dog keeps getting out of the kennel!! help..

dog keeps getting out of the kennel!! help..

hello i have a german shepherd/chow mix.. and well i brought him home when he was almost 3 moths and since i can't keep him inside the house, and nor does my back yard has a fence all around, i had to build him a kennel. it is 20 feet wide and 15 feet long and around 6 feet tall.... anyways every time i go out to walk him or feed him, he goes crazy and when i open the kennel's door, he'll just take off running.... i've been walking him and training him for about 3 months and no progress!!!...since he's grown up, he now jumps over the kennel and takes off running. so i had to tie up in a chain.( i don't like that but what can i do??).. no matter what i do, it seems that he doesn't want to be in the kennel.... he tries to bite on the kennel, he digs wholes in the yard to try to get out, and he barks and barks,... eventually, he calms down and falls a sleep. but everything starts back even if i take my trash out.. can somebody give me any tips or an advice on how i can resolve this problem??? could it be that he feels lonely and that he doesn't have enogh space to walk??? should i put a fence all around my back yard?.??? please help...

You got it right! He's lonely!! Would you like being confined to a little kennel -by yourself- all day long? Dogs are pack animals and want to be with their family. Is there a good reason why he can't come in the house? It just sounds like he's bored and needs some good exercise and mental stimulation daily.

I don't mean to be rude, but I've never understood the point in having (or getting) a dog if it's just stuck out in the yard all day.

Ashley & Crossbone ("mini ACD")
    Living with my parent's: Jack (Lab/Beagle), Micki & Mini (JRTS)
    RIP Kyra: 07/11/04 - 11/3/12; Shadow: 4/2/96 - 3/17/08

Quote Originally Posted by khriztian704 View Post