Thread: Miracle Cat rescued from the 9/11 Rubble!

Miracle Cat rescued from the 9/11 Rubble!

A white persian housecat was rescued from the rubble 15 days after the World Trade Towers collapsed and while smoke was still coming out of the ruins. I saw this story on the TV NEWS twice in one day and was so moved by this true-life miracle that I started to draw it.

I am an artist and after drawing the very painful "9/11 ATTACK"
    I was searching for some glimmer of hope... and this cat was it.
    The TV NEW showed the white persian (who was found dehydrated and dirty but OK) being reunited (at a rescue) with the happy owner whose apartment was destroyed when the WTC came down. It seemed ironic that a spoiled housecat who had never been outside survived the disaster!

This artwork has been published in CHILD ART MAGAZINE and I wanted to share it with you all. Does anyone else remember seeing or reading about this story? I wish it had had more coverage. I would love to talk to the kitty's owners and give them a print.

I will attach a small version of it here. To see the larger art go to my website at http://www.SylviArt.com and click on 9/11 ART.

I created a store with special Mugs saying "I LOVE NY" on one side and my "HOPE EMERGES" art on the other. I wish I could give really nice PRINTS to all the firefighters involved but I am not able to right now.

"HOPE EMERGES: Cat found Alive in Rubble!" SA Murray © 2001
    special "HOPE EMERGES" store - http://www.cafepress.com/HopeEmerges
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    See KITTY ART by SylviAnn
    www.SylviART.com/T-shirts

See KITTY ART for CAT LOVERS!!!

Sylvia,

That is exquisite!! Are you selling that picture on tee-shirts?? I'd love one if you are. Please let me now. You have a true gift.

Donna