Thread: Urinary Tract Infection

Urinary Tract Infection

I have a 5 month old female German Short Hair Pointer puppy that has been battling a UTI for 2 months. She has been on 3 antibiotics without any success. The Vet is now recommending to put on her a 4th antibiotic, Baytril and then suggested an early spaying. Apparently they have had a few similar cases, where, for unexplainable reasons, the spaying seemed to cure the UTI.

I am very concerned at this point as to what the right course of action and am seeking help from anyone that may have had a similar experience.

Thank you for your replies.

**Sorry, I am a newbie here and posted this incorrectly in the wrong section initially.

Ed Bickel

Welcome to PT, and good luck finding out what's wrong. I have a cousin that had a Husky with a similar problem, but she had looootttts of other health issues too, so I know that's not helpful. She was spayed earlier than my cousin wanted, but it was for the better, in the long run.