Thread: Question on Cockatiel

Question on Cockatiel

My friend has a cockatiel named Frost that for the first 6 months of his life was never handled. He is not hand tame and my friend would like some pointers on how to help him. She has been working to make the hand a good thing by feeding him treats and such, but what are some more pointers you can give her?

Also, the place where she got her bird is offering baby cockatiels for free. My question is if you were to get a baby that was just weaned, would it be easy to hand tame? How old are they when they are weaned? How hard would it be to hand tame a baby this young? Also, if you got two babies from the same hatching and they were opposite sexes, would they mate? Can you get DNA testing done when they are this young?

Sorry for so many questions!
    Ashley

I'm still learning about Cockatiels as I go along since I haven't been a tiel owner for that long.. but here's what helped for me:

I have three tiels that hate to be handled. One will nip until you leave him alone. The other two.. I'm way too afraid to even try with. I started leaving the cage door open when I can supervise. One of the three came out on their own. I have a feeling that if I do this long enough, another one (or two) will come out just because the first one did. So I'd suggest maybe doing the same and letting her Tiel decide when it's ready to come out? When my tiels come out, I also make it a really happy place and offer lots of goodies.

I'm not too sure about the baby thing.. but about opposite sexes mating.. I know that I have at least one male in my cage. None of them have ever mated. I don't provide a place for egg laying though.. so I guess that helped.

Kai [Sheltie], Kaedyn [Sheltie], Keeva [Malinois], Kwik [Malinois]

Blog Entries