PDA

View Full Version : What do you think of this horse?

CarrieB
02-19-2006, 10:30 PM
I have been looking into buying a horse. I was wondering what you think about horses for sale at breeding places. They seem more expensive, but they kind of seem like they were trained very well. Are those horses usually for the experinced horse people? I found this horse for sale in Washington, I don't know if we can post websites so I'll just put what they said about him.

***Striking 1996 grey Arabian gelding with mulitple show wins and Championships in Country Pleasure. A sweet guy who is fun to show and loves to show off. Qualified for Regions 4 & 5 as well as Nationals in Open Country Pleasure and is ready to go for an amateur or youth rider who wants to win. $7,500 obo***

It sounds good to me but Im not an expert... what do you guys thinK? And what is considered an amateur? I just emailed their website to get more info on him. And are geldings ok for beginners? Thanks!! :p

flamepony12
02-19-2006, 10:44 PM
It all pretty much depends on your riding experience, the horse's experience, etc.. by looking at the ad, it looks like he might be owned by people who are pretty serious about showing him. You should ask yourself whether you're interested in showing or pleasure riding. I think the best thing to do would to first go and try the horse, see if you two click. If you do, see if you can take him on a trial period, and if he works out, make sure to get a vet to look him over to make sure he's sound. good luck!

CarrieB
02-19-2006, 11:05 PM
Thanks for your reply! I'll ask my dad to see if he likes him. I actully did want to do some show, along with pleasure too. I just hope he isn't sold yet!!!

CarrieB
02-20-2006, 01:23 AM