PDA

View Full Version : Riding English

CarrieB
02-02-2006, 08:49 PM
I wanted to start taking lessons on english riding (I usually do western), because I thought that jumping might be interesting. But the thing is.. I am so scared I might fall off while jumping!! I kno you guys hav probably heard this millions of times.. but I really want to overcome this fear. I have so many stories of people falling off there horses and braking legs, and be paralized!! How often does this happen? I mean, of course I don't mind falling off a couple times and maybe getting a few scratches.. but I certainly wouldn't want to break something or get paralized.. who would? So can anybody help me to overcome this fear? What can I do? :confused:

Buddy Blaze Lover
02-03-2006, 02:38 PM
Oh, believe me, I had some fears when I started riding English too!;) I was like, "Woa, there's nothing to hold you on except balance!" I think the biggest thing, is to get used to riding English slow at first and gradually get faster and better. But I don't think there is any real way to gurantee you are not going to fall off. It happens in western too, and there's really nothing you can do to prevent it...when you get on a horse, you have to be prepared and ready at any time to fall off. Don't get on the horse if you're too scared, or you'll scare the horse!;) I mean, horses spook, buck, and rear...even the tamest most gentle horses; I've experienced it!:) I don't want to scare you, but I don't want to lie either. And remember--you can't prevent accidents, that's why they're called accidents.;) Good luck!

cocker_luva
02-03-2006, 05:01 PM
when you learn, you start off r-e-a-l slow. (at least i did). also ive been riding for about 8 years, and i have yet to fall off a horse, jumping or not. so dont worry. the instructor wouldnt let a new rider/jumper on a horse that couldnt be trusted.

Suki Wingy
02-03-2006, 05:28 PM