PDA

View Full Version : Kitten coughing

boscibo
01-26-2006, 06:57 AM
I'm pretty sure this just started yesterday. My kitten will have short fits of coughing. it isn't one cough, it will start and she will cough continuously for about ten seconds, then stop. She has done this 4-5 times since yesterday.

Her eyes are clear, her noes is not runny, and she hasn't been sneezy.

Jeff thinks it is the dusty litter. I'm calling the vet, but until I do has anyone had experience wit ha coughing kitten? I'm scared.

christa
01-26-2006, 07:32 AM
I've had plenty of experience with coughing!

Ask your vet about the potentials for ASTHMA.

Josie has asthma and she started out coughing as a kitten. We let her cough like that for probably the first year of her life. Didn't know what was going on. Finally she got so bad, she almost died on us. We had to rush her to the ER vet one night and they said we'd gotten her there just in time. Now she has to have an "allergy shot" about every 6-8 weeks to control her asthma attacks. :rolleyes:

Who ever knew that a cat could have asthma?

There are a few other cats on this board with asthma.

catnapper
01-26-2006, 08:19 AM
Christa beat me to my reply, though she is definately ourresident authority on living with an asthmatic cat!

I'd think she'd be sneezing over the litter dust, not coughing.

boscibo
01-26-2006, 08:35 AM
Thanks! Abby has asthma, but when she has an attack it is different - Abby crouches down and acts like she's horking up a hairball - one long, low cough. Abby hasn't had an attack in years.

This is a series of cough-cough-cough...almost like a smoker's cough (nobody here smokes). I suppose asthma can manifest itself in different ways, so maybe a possibliity. I was also thinking possibly a hairball? She has super-long fur, and this is my first long-haired cat.

catmandu
01-26-2006, 09:33 AM
Asthma cannot be ruled out,but in my experiences its more than likely a hairball.that makes that cough.