PDA

View Full Version : My first dogs...

dream_dog1234
01-24-2006, 10:46 AM
Oh my gosh I just noticed I'm getting Aslan and Eddy tommorow... these are my first dogs and I need help! How do I train them correctly? What's a good food for them? How much excersize should I give two adult Goldens? Where should they sleep? I don't know what to do, I researched for at least 10 months and it seems like I've researched none... and I really need help, I knew I could come to all of you :D

dab_20
01-24-2006, 10:55 AM
Oh, don't worry so much. It kind of depends on what training you need done. Are they already potty trained?

I feed my 2 Iams... but alot of people here don't agree with it. I'm not an expert on food.

You can by a crate for each of them... which will be a bit pricey... but it will keep them out of trouble for the night. Make sure they don't have a bunch of extra room in the kennel.

From what I know, they need quite a bit of exercise. Here I will get some info on exercise....

EDIT:The Golden Retriever needs daily exercise, but likes to retrieve balls and other toys, so exercising is fairly easy. Be sure to exercise this dog well and do not overfeed, as he tends to put on weight.

So sounds like maybe you could take them to the dog park daily and throw tennis balls for them. And a nice walk should do good, too.

I know since it is your fist dogs you will be nervous. But I bet everything will go smoothly and you won't regret it!

BC_MoM
01-24-2006, 10:57 AM
How do I train them correctly?
Well, it's not a DIFFICULT task to teach a dog the basics. I suggest enrolling in some obedience classes.. it will also help you three bond more! :)

What's a good food for them?